Who can I contact to arrange a FEP Audit?

keyboard_arrow_down

* Ecan Certified Auditors

Ecan certification required by June 2017

Alastair Rutherford

Amuri irrigation Company

021 474 707

alastair@amuriirrigation.co.nz

Alison Van Polanen*

EnivroPlan Limited

021 946 419

alison@enviroplan.nz

Claire Mulcock

Mulgor Consulting

027 441 5605

c.mulcock@mulgor.co.nz

Dave Lucock*

The Agribusiness Group

027 258 0771

dave@agribusinessgroup.com

David Ashby*

Dave Ashby Rural Consultants Ltd

027 450 2934

dave@darcl.nz

David Hendrikz

DRH Consulting Limited

027 715 7064

drhconsult@xtra.co.nz

David Hewson*

Opus International Consultants - Rural

021 241 3549

david.hewson@opus.co.nz

Dugald McLean*

021 038 1916

dsamclean@gmail.com

Edmund Noonan

027 288 6925

edmund.noonan@gmail.com

Erin Harvie

Bowden Environmental

027 434 7438

erin@bowden.co.nz

Eva Harris

Irrigo

027 550 0129

eva@irrigo.co.nz

Glen Treweek*

Aqualinc

021 928 877

g.treweek@aqualinc.co.nz

Grant Bickley

Rural Directions

027 200 1601

grant@ruraldirections.co.nz

Greg Sheppard

Sheppard Agriculture Limited

027 434 9340

greg@sheppardagriculture.co.nz

Ian Millner

Rural Directions

027 4966 380

ian@ruraldirections.co.nz

Irrigo

Ben Howden

021 242 0023

ben@irricon.co.nz

Jane Mitchell*

027 482 9603

jane.m.mitchell@gmail.com

Julia Crossman

Opuha Water Limited

021 535 174

julia@opuha.co.nz

Katherine McCusker*

The Agribusiness Group

022 071 0255

katherine@agribusinessgroup.com

Kelly Heckler

AgriBasics - Environmental Solutions

027 603 0333

kelly@basicsenviro.nz

Lachie Grant

Land Vision

021 526 478

lachie.grant@gmail.com

Lew Metcalfe

Opus International Consultants Ltd

027 230 0110

lew.metcalfe@opus.co.nz

Matthew Bubb

Aqualinc

027 660 6108

m.bubb@aqualinc.co.nz

Megan Hands*

Irrigo

027 550 0131

megan@irrigo.co.nz

Michael Edmundson*

Synlait

021 503 397

Michael.edmondson@outlook.com

Nicole Phillips*

Irricon Resource Solutions

027 414 0456

nicole@irricon.co.nz

Noelle Fox

Livestock Improvement Corporation

027 525 0250

noelle.fox@lic.co.nz

Opus International Consultants - Rural

Opus International Consultants - Rural

027 687 5299

stephen.mcnally@opus.co.nz

Paul Reese*

Irricon Resource Solutions

0277314433

paulr@irricon.co.nz

Ravensdown Environmental

Ravensdown Environmental

0800 100 123

environmental@ravensdown.co.nz

Rebecca Hyde

Ballance

027 838 8304

Rebecca.Hyde@ballance.co.nz

Reuben Edkins

Rangitata Diversion Race

027 435 6257

Reuben@rdrml.co.nz

Russell Hamilton

027 839 0282

rthamsam@hotmail.com

Seaun Lovell

Smart Ag Solutions

027 762 7824

seaun@smartagsolutions.co.nz

Steve Lee

027 474 2991

steveleedairy@gmail.com

Sue Cumberworth*

The Agribusiness Group

027 628 6110

sue@agribusinessgroup.com

Suzie Le Cren

Land Vision

027 293 7702

suzie.lecren@gmail.com

Victoria Clarke

Irricon Resource Solutions

021 190 4535

victoria@irricon.co.nz

William Foster

027 247 8347

wandtfoster@xtra.co.nz

What is an FEP Audit?

keyboard_arrow_down
An FEP audit is an on-farm independent assessment of the implementation of your FEP to check that:​
  • You manage the risks identified in your Farm Environment Plan; and
  • You apply Good Management Practices identified in your FEP to minimise the impact on water quality.

How much does an audit cost?

Environment Canterbury does not have control on the charges set by the FEP Auditors. The costs will however be dependent on the size and complexity of the farm systems and the time spent to undertake the audit.

Who requires a FEP Audit?

Any farmer:

  • Holding a resource consent with conditions requiring to have an FEP for their farm and an audit of that FEP; or
  • ​Belonging to an Irrigation Scheme, Principal Water Supplier that holds a resource consent with conditions requiring their members to have an FEP for their farm and an audit of their FEP; or
  • Belonging to a Hurunui Waiau River Regional Plan (Hurunui Waiau) Collective with and approved Environment Management Strategy.

Farm receiving water from an Irrigation Scheme, Principal Water Supplier or is part of a Hurunui Waiau Collective, can I decide who can audit my farm?

If you are supplied with water from an Irrigation Scheme or Principal Water Supplier and your property is covered by their consent or permit, or if you are part of an HWRRP Collective with an approved Environment Management Strategy, the FEP Audit will be arranged in line with your contract.

Farm connected to an Environment Canterbury Approved ISO Accredited Audit Programmes Industry Programme (aka Industry Programmes)

It is unlikely that you would require an additional audit, as long as the ISO accredited audit programme has been approved by Environment Canterbury and meets the requirements of your consent. A list of approved ISO accredited audit programmes is available from Environment Canterbury Customer Services, ecinfo@ecan.govt.nz"

When does my FEP need to be audited?

The date of the first audits is determined by your resource consent or your Irrigation Scheme, Principal Water Supplier or Hurunui Waiau Collective. The timeframe of subsequent audits is dependent on the audit grade awarded to you at the time of your previous audit. If you have a change in management or significant change in farm systems you will have to be re-audited within the year or 6 months depending of your previous audit grade.

What do I need for the audit

  1. The most recent version of your FEP and the consent containing FEP requirements – you need to ensure that your FEP meets at a minimum the FEP requirements included in your consent (The Auditor will ask you for this information before the audit)
  2. Your Nutrient Losses (including GMP losses as estimated by the Farm Portal. The Auditor will ask you for this information before to the audit):
    • The Farm Portal Farm Report
    • Hard Copy report of electronic file generated by the person that estimated your losses
  3. Records related to the management of fertilizer, irrigation, soils, effluent, waterways, waste/offal/silage pits and non-irrigation water, for example: (please see Examples of Evidence for more examples).
    • Pictures of stock exclusion methods, riparian margins management, and where applicable, mahinga kai management;
    • Farm Diary or other records types relating to:
      1. Irrigation scheduling and application;
      2. Fertlizer application; and
      3. Effluent application.
    • Soil moisture records;
    • Water Use for dairy shed and stock-water;
    • Maintenance records for machineries such as travelling irrigator, liquid and solid effluent facilities, irrigation systems, fertilizer application machineries etc.; and
    • Inspection sheets for crossing facilities, feed-pads, waste/offal/silage pits.

Record keeping is useful for your business and it can help you identify where you can reduce costs and increase efficiency.

Examples of Evidence - IrrigationManagement Area

keyboard_arrow_down

The following table contains a list of possible documents and records a FEP Auditor may look at to assess whether you meet targets and objective per each management area included in your FEP.

Nutrient Management Area

  • Nutrient Budgets (latest version of OVERSEER® or equivalent model approved by Environment Canterbury)
  • Farm Portal Farm Report
  • Critical nutrient source map
  • Spreadmark certificate
  • Proof of fertilizer placement records
  • Fertiliser records
  • Fertiliser application records (incl. GPS records)
  • Soil moisture records
  • Soil temperature records
  • Soil test results(incl. Deep soil N test results)
  • Plant analysis results
  • Advisors recommendations report
  • Crop calculator records
  • Fertilizer application equipment calibration results

Irrigation Management Area

  • Design specifications
  • Certified/Accredited designer used
  • System evaluation report
  • System commissioning certificate
  • System calibration
  • Water take records
  • Preseason system maintenance records
  • Maintenance records
  • Breakages & system failure records
  • Annual system audit report
  • Bucket test results
  • Scheduling record
  • 10 day water budget
  • Application depth records
  • Map of irrigation high risk areas
  • Soil risk map
  • Irrigation GPS records
  • Specialised soil mapping records
  • Rainfall records
  • Climatic records
  • Soil moisture records
  • Staff training records

Soils Management Area

  • Erosion risk map
  • Record of erosion control activities
  • Soil incident records
  • Soil compaction field test results

Collected Animal Effluent Management Area

  • Regional Council Compliance letter
  • Effluent irrigation incident records
  • Backflow prevention device certificate
  • Certified/Accredited designer used
  • System maintenance records
  • Management plan/procedures
  • System incident records
  • Emergency management procedures
  • Effluent diary
  • Procedures manual
  • Effluent area map
  • System maintenance records
  • Application records (incl. depth and GPS records)
  • Bucket test results
  • Soil moisture records
  • Effluent storage design specifications
  • Dairy effluent storage calculations
  • Effluent storage system leakage test
  • Staff training records

Waterbody (riparian areas, drains, rivers, lakes, wetlands) Management Area

  • Stock Exclusion Map
  • Waterway mapping - fencing
  • Riparian management records
  • Riparian planting plan
  • Risk map and action plan

Point Sources (offal pits, farm rubbish pits, silage pits) Management Area

  • Pit Location Map
  • Contingency plan

Water Use (excluding irrigation water) Management Area

  • Water use data
  • Water meter data
  • Water meter certification
  • Water efficiency calculation
  • Certification of mechanical device
  • Design specifications

What does my FEP Audit Grade mean?

keyboard_arrow_down
Overall Grade A B C D
Compliance against your resource consent Compliant Compliant Non-compliant Non-compliant
  Frequency of Audit
Individual consented farm and farming enterprises 3yr 2yr 1yr 6 months
Farms connected to an Environment Canterbury Approved ISO Accredited Audit Programmes (Industry Programme) Dependent on Approved ISO Accredited Audit Programme timeframe 2yr 1yr 6 months
Farms connected to an Irrigation Scheme, Principal Water Supplier, or Huruni Waiau Collective Dependent on Approved ISO Accredited Audit Programme timeframe 2yr 1yr 6 months
Change in management or significant change in farm systems 1yr 1yr Within the year 6 months

What information will be submitted to Environment Canterbury a result of the FEP Audit?

keyboard_arrow_down

Individual consented farmers and farming enterprises (multiple properties under single management)

The Certified FEP Auditor will provide the following information to Environment Canterbury

  • Audit Grade; and
  • Nitrogen losses as described in your consent

Farming enterprises (multiple properties under multiple management)

A summary report will be sent to Environment Canterbury containing:

  • Audit Grade for each farm belonging to the farming enterprise; and
  • Sum of Nitrogen Losses as described in your consent

Irrigation Scheme, Principal Water Supplier or is part of a Hurunui Waiau Collective

No FEP audit data will be sent to Environment Canterbury if you receive water from an Irrigation Scheme, Principal Water Supplier or is part of a Hurunui Waiau Collective. The registered FEP Auditor will liaise directly with them instead.